SA Community Football Central District Football Club Glenelg Football Club Sturt Football Club Norwood Football Club Port Adelaide Magpies Football Club Woodville West Torrens Football Club North Adelaide Football Club South Adelaide Football Club West Adelaide Football Club Adelaide Crows Football Club
Share on Facebook
  • About the SANFL
  • Policies
  • History of the SANFL
  • SA Football Commission
  • SA Football Hall of Fame
  • League Life Members
  • SANFL 200 Club Members
  • SANFL Annual Report
  • Awards
  • State Games
  • Grand Finals
  • Leading Goalkickers
  • Commercial Partners
  • Contact us

  • About the SANFL

    Who We Are

    The SANFL (South Australian National Football League) is the premier League and governing body for Australian Rules Football in South Australia.

    The SANFL grows and promotes football throughout South Australia from indigenous communities, school and club footy right through to League level.

    We are the custodians for footy in South Australia and as such, we are the organisation that works in the best interests of football to realise its full potential at all levels.

    It is a significant responsibility, as football is an industry that generates half a billion dollars to the state's economy annually and employs 1500 people - and it's a game that is played and enjoyed by hundreds of thousands more.

    The SANFL's key objective is to build and protect the long-term future of the game at all levels - the ten SANFL clubs, and the game at community level throughout South Australia.

    SA Football Commission

    The SA Football Commission manages and controls the affairs of the SANFL, including its major financial investments and the appointment of committees.

    The Commission comprises seven non-executive elected members, two non-executive appointed Commissioners and the Executive Commissioner. Elected Commissioners are appointed for a three-year terms by the League Directors and
    appointed Commissioners are appointed by the elected Commissioners for one year terms.

    The Commission’s actions are bound by the Associations Incorporation Act, the SANFL Constitution and the League’s own regulations.


    The SANFL League Directors represent the interests of the SANFL clubs – Central District, Glenelg, North Adelaide, Norwood, South Adelaide, Sturt, West Adelaide and Woodville-West Torrens.

    A Community Football delegate serves alongside the League Directors to ensure the interests of grassroots football are represented at the highest level.

    The League Directors are also responsible for appointing elected members to the SA Football Commission.