SA Community Football Central District Football Club Glenelg Football Club Sturt Football Club Norwood Football Club Port Adelaide Magpies Football Club Woodville West Torrens Football Club North Adelaide Football Club South Adelaide Football Club West Adelaide Football Club Adelaide Crows Football Club
Share on Facebook
  • About the SANFL
  • Past Players
  • Policies
  • History of the SANFL
  • SA Football Commission
  • SA Football Hall of Fame
  • League Life Members
  • SANFL 200 Club Members
  • SANFL Annual Report
  • Awards
  • State Games
  • Grand Finals
  • Leading Goalkickers
  • Corporate Partners
  • Contact us

  • State Games

    South Australia will play Western Australia in Perth on May 23rd in 2015.

    The first State game was played between South Australia and Victoria in Melbourne in 1879. 

    State Game Honour Board

    Year Opponent Result Coach Captain Fos Williams Medal
    2015 Western Australia (Away)        
    2014 Victoria (Away) Won Michael Godden Paul Thomas Zane Kirkwood
    2013 NEAFL Northern (Home) Won Michael Godden Paul Thomas Ryan Ferguson
    2012 Western Australia (Home) Won Michael Godden Paul Thomas Adam Grocke
    2009 Western Australia (Away) Lost Darel Hart Jade Sheedy

    Jade Sheedy

    2008 Victoria (Home) Won Darel Hart Jade Sheedy

    Clint Alleway

    2006      Western Australia (Away) Won Darel Hart Scott Borlace Daniel Schell
    2005 Victoria (Away) Won Darel Hart Heath Hopwood Scott Borlace
    2003       Western Australia (Away) Won Alastair Clarkson Damian Squire Brett Backwell
    2002 Victoria (Home) Lost Stephen Williams Brett James Ben Hollands
    2001 Victoria (Home) Won Stephen Williams Brett James Ben Hollands
    2000 Western Australia (Home) Won Mike Nunan Daniel Hulm Stephen Carter
    1999 Victoria (Away) Won Mike Nunan David Brown Anthony Harvey
    1998 Western Australia (Home) Won Mike Nunan Brodie Atkinson Paul McCormack
    1997 ACT (Away) Won Mike Nunan Garry McIntosh James Thiessen
    1996 Western Australia (Away) Won Alan Stewart Andrew Rogers Josh Francou
    1995  Tasmania (Away) Lost John Cahill Garry McIntosh Garry McIntosh
    1994  Western Australia (Home) Lost Michael Taylor Andrew Payze Scott Burns
    1993  Western Australia (Away) Lost Michael Taylor David Marshall Tony Lynn
    1992        Western Australia (Home) Won Neil Balme Garry McIntosh Garry McIntosh
    1991  Western Australia (Away) Lost John Cahill Michael Redden   Mark Naley

    Record v State Leagues (1991 onwards)

    Opposition Played Win Loss
    v VFA / VFL 5 4


    v WAFL 10 6 4
    v Tas 1 - 1
    v ACT 1 1 -
    v NEAFL 1 1 -
    Total 18 12 6

    Click here to view Fos Williams Medallist's (State Game best on ground)